Kings Update – Anaheim Royals Trademark Filed

Posted: March 16, 2011 in basketball, NBA, Relocation/Expansion
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I’m unfortunately still without a computer, so I can’t really go into too much depth on this. However, as it involves the Sacramento Kings, I figured that I should include mention of it here.

The Maloof family, owners of the Kings, have filed for several trademarks in the event of relocation to Anaheim. As expected, if they moved to Southern California, the Kings seem intent on changing the name of the franchise so as to not run into potential difficulties with the NHL’s Los Angeles Kings. As per a report by ESPN, the Maloofs are looking into their pre-Kansas City past to return to their original name, the Royals.

More information on this development can be found here: http://es.pn/hhsp5q

Hopefully I’ll be able to go into a greater level of detail in the near future.

Leave a comment